Ranthambore National Park

The Royal Land Of The Royal Bengal Tiger

Safari Zones

There are 10 safari zones in Ranthambore National Park: Numbered as Zones 1 to 10. Although the park initially had just 5 Zones, the other 5 were added as it grew in popularity. Even though it is believed that Zones 1-5 are the best for spotting tigers, Zones 6-10 also offer sufficient opportunities for tiger sighting. Among these, Zone 2, dotted with numerous water holes, is the most important zone in the park where several animals are regularly spotted, including leopards. Zone 6 Kundal is different from all the other zones, both in terms of its landscape & the opportunities for spotting birds, including the endangered Red-Headed Vultures.


Tourism Zone Name

  • Zone 1
  • Zone 2
  • Zone 3 
  • Zone 4
  • Zone 5
  • Kundal (Zone 6)
  • Chidikho (Zone 7)
  • Balas (Zone 8)
  • Kuwal Ji (Zone 9)
  • Aantri ( Zone 10)


  • Zone no. 1 to 5 remain closed in the monsoon; however, zone no. 6 to 10 remain open throughout the year.
  • Zone 6-10 were added later to the sanctuary, hence access to these zones is at the exact opposite end as that of zone 1-5. To enter these zones the gypsies and canters go through the old city of Sawai Madhopur.

Must Visit Spots

In The Park

  • Surwal Lake
  • Malik Talao
  • Padam Talao
  • Rajbagh Talao
  • Jogi Mahal






Vehicle Carrying Capacity


Gypsy Permit per Safari

Total Gypsies Allowed


Gypsies for regular safari


Gypsies for tatkal Quota


Gypsies for Special Category Quota


Full-Day and Half-Day


* Canter Safari is allocated in all Safari zones except for zone no. 7 & 8. 

*A Total of 52 canters are permitted to enter the park per safari.




*Information Last Modified On: 08-Jun-2021

Contact the Park